Paddle in the Kitchen: the Non-Volley Zone Volley Rule

The Pickler 6 hours ago 12 views
LinkedIn Telegram

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

Question: I’ve noticed in both rec play and tournaments that some players touch their paddle to the Non-Volley Zone while volleying a low dink, sometimes even smacking the ground with an audible ‘thwack.’ It’s rarely called a fault. Is this actually allowed, or should it be called?

Answer: Under the 2025 USA Pickleball Rulebook, this situation is now governed by a revised definition of the act of volleying—specifically Rule 9.B.1. The key change is this:

The act of volleying now begins at the moment the ball is struck.

This means a player may have their paddle already in the Non-Volley Zone (NVZ)—even touching the ground—so long as it occurs before the ball is struck. This is no longer a fault.

However, if the player hits the volley first and then their paddle (or any part of their body or clothing) contacts the NVZ, that remains a fault, just as in previous years.

So while the loud “thwack” may look or sound questionable, if the paddle was already in the NVZ before the volley, no fault should be called under the current rules.

Source: The Pickler
Anuncie Aqui / Advertise Here

Sua marca para o mundo Pickleball! / Your brand for the Pickleball world!

Read the Original Content on The Pickler

Disclaimer: Pickleball Unit is a Decentralized News Aggregator that enables journalists, influencers, editors, publishers, websites and community members to share news about Pickleball. User must always do their own research and none of those articles are financial advices. The content is for informational purposes only and does not necessarily reflect our opinion.